Skip to content

Personal Observation: Always Learning

March 16, 2010

It is my personal opinion that in order for a person – in any profession – to continue to be relevant, that they must continously be upgrading their skills and knowledge.  That can occur on the job – and between jobs.

In every job I have ever had, I have always considered it part of my job responsibility to become as knowledgeable as possible on the industry in which I am working, as well as to gain additional knowledge in all areas related to my particular position, or that could have impact on my position.

Any time I have been unemployed, I have always been extremely busy during those periods – certainly conducting a job search – but even more so, insuring that I use that time to add additional skills to my arsenal. 

I can remember many years ago when working for a shopping center developer, I had an Administrative Assistant who did everything requiring a computer.  I didn’t even have one on my desk – let alone have any knowledge of how to use it.  When I left that position, I made the decision to take as many classes as I could find to increase my computer skills until I was once again employed so that I would never again be dependent on someone else to assist me.  Obtaining those added skills not only helped me to obtain my next job, but also provided the opportunity to become a computer skills instructor on a part-time basis at the same school where I received my education.

I have had many similar situations occur, and now it is just habit for me – I am constantly seeking to increase my expertise in a wide variety of skill areas.  In recent years that has included:  social media marketing, mobile marketing, virtual events production/management, website development, and quite a few other areas.  It’s a lot of work, but I am convinced that it makes me much more marketable to employers and/or clients depending on which situation I am choosing to explore.

Comments are closed.

